Opticians Association of America Elects Executives

LAKELAND, Tenn.—The Opticians Association of America (OAA) Delegate Assembly, which represents the voting body of the OAA membership, re-elected Shirley Earley of Ohio as president, Tom Barracato of Ohio as first vice president, Sandy Brown of Ky. as second vice president and Russell Fritz, Jr., of Conn. as secretary/treasurer to the executive committee for another one-year term.

The Delegate Assembly also elected Doug Corby of Md. (representing firm members), Sue Shire of Mich. (representing OAA state members), Dibby Bartlett of Mass. (representing individual members) and Cheri Guy of Fla. (OAA at-large position) to the OAA board of directors. Other board of directors members include Diane Charles of Wash. (immediate past president), Daniel Thomas of Vt. (Guild Council Chair), Kathryn Ring of Mich. (representing firm membership), Denyse Blandina of N.H. (representing state societies), Pat Kuhl of Ohio (representing individual membership), and Doug Pelkey of Mo. (at-large board position).

“Elections are always bittersweet. You have to say goodbye to great people who have helped to shape our organization over the past several years,” said Chris Allen, OAA executive director. “However, the people elected this year are all very qualified and show exceptional leadership capabilities and should be able to build on the legacy that the retiring board members have left in place. The future is extremely bright for the Opticians Association of America, and I, personally, look forward to working with the re-elected executive committee and the newly elected board of directors.”