AAOF Announces Recipient of Beta Sigma Kappa Research Fellowship


Xiaohua Zhuang, PhD.

ORLANDO, Fla.—The American Academy of Optometry Foundation (AAOF), in collaboration with the Beta Sigma Kappa International Optometric Honor Society, has named Xiaohua Zhuang, PhD, as the 2018 recipient of the Beta Sigma Kappa (BSK) Research Fellowship. Dr. Zhuang is an assistant professor at the Illinois College of Optometry. The fellowship is designed to provide support for early career optometric and vision science faculty research. This award will fund Dr. Zhuang’s project, “Flicker Adaptation Probes Detection of Contrast Sensitivity Loss in Early Glaucoma.”

Dr. Zhuang will be honored at the AAOF Celebration Luncheon during the American Academy of Optometry’s Annual Meeting in San Antonio, Texas on Nov. 10, 2018.