American Academy of Ophthalmology Announces New President and Board Members

SAN FRANCISCO—Paul Sternberg, Jr., MD has begun his term as president of the American Academy of Ophthalmology. Dr. Sternberg will hold office for one year as the 116th president of the AAO, as elected by the Academy’s 32,000 members.

A nationally recognized ophthalmic education and research leader, Sternberg currently serves as the G.W. Hale professor of ophthalmology and chairman of the Vanderbilt Eye Institute of the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine in Nashville, Tenn.

Sternberg has been involved with the Academy for numerous years, having served as trustee-at–large on the Board of Trustees from 2006-2009 and holding several roles on the Academy’s Committee of Secretaries including co-establishing the Leadership Development Program.

“It’s an honor and a privilege to serve the profession of ophthalmology as the Academy’s president,” Sternberg said. “Each year, our clinicians and scientists come up with extraordinary treatment innovations that improve ophthalmologists’ ability to provide effective, efficient and compassionate care.”

Additionally, Gregory L. Skuta, MD has been named American Academy of Ophthalmology president-elect for 2013, to serve as president beginning Jan. 1, 2014. Dr. Skuta, president and CEO of the Dean McGee Eye Institute (DMEI), has served as American Academy of Ophthalmology senior secretary for clinical education for six years. He is also a member of the AAO board of trustees, executive committee and committee of secretaries and has served on the nominating committee and awards committee.

Further Academy officers appointed to the board of trustees include Frank J. Martin, MD, international trustee-at-large, Jane C. Edmond, MD, trustee-at-large, Thomas. A. Oetting, MD, trustee-at-large and Mildred M. G. Oliver, MD, trustee-at-large. Also appointed is a new secretary for clinical education in 2013, Louis B. Cantor, MD. Christie L. Morse will return to the board as FAAO advisory board chair, and George Bartley, trustee-at-large in 2012, will move to editor of ophthalmology.

The American Academy of Ophthalmology is the world’s largest association of eye physicians and surgeons— Eye M.D.s— with more than 32,000 members worldwide. For more information about the Academy Elections, visit