American Academy of Optometry and Armed Forces Optometric Society Celebrate 2013 Award Recipients at Annual Meeting


(L to R) AFOS President Dr. Alyon Wasik,
AOA immediate past president Dr. Ronald Hopping and AFOS immediate past president CDR Mike Sunman at the 2013 Academy Awards.

SEATTLE—The American Academy of Optometry and Armed Forces Optometric Society (AFOS) joined in honoring members of their organizations and the optometric profession at their annual meeting held here the week of Oct. 21. The Academy meeting officially took place from Oct. 23 to 26, 2013 at the Washington State Convention Center with preliminary meetings beginning Oct. 21.

According to the Academy, Academy 2013 Seattle was the organization’s 92nd annual meeting and hit record-breaking numbers. The 6,006 total registrants in attendance included 3,801 optometrists and vision scientists, 805 students and marked a 20 percent increase in attendance since last year.

“Attendees engaged in high-quality learning, experienced new products and technologies in a packed Exhibit Hall, and met the optometrists and vision scientists who are not only conducting the research, but also bringing the results to their clinics and practices,” said a spokesperson.

The 2013 Academy Awards recognized distinguished individuals who have made “countless contributions to advancing the profession of optometry,” the organization said. Award winners were selected and announced in July and officially honored at the Awards Ceremony on Oct. 25.

In addition, 244 new Fellows were inducted into the Academy at the President’s Banquet on Saturday, making it the largest class of new Fellows in Academy history. Five individuals were awarded Diplomate status.

The 2013 Academy Award Recipients are as follows:

Gordon E. Legge, PhD, Charles F. Prentice Medal and Lecture Award; David B. Elliott, PhD, MCOptom, FAAO, Glenn A. Fry Award and Lecture (American Optometric Foundation Award); Pete Kollbaum, OD, PhD, FAAO, Irvin M. and Beatrice Borish Award; George Woo, OD, PhD, FAAO, AAO-Essilor Award for Outstanding International Contributions to Optometry; Sandra Block, OD, MEd, FAAO, Carel C. Koch Memorial Award; Krystal L. Schulle, OD, Julius F. Neumueller Award in Optics (American Optometric Foundation Award); Murray Fingeret, OD, FAAO, Vincent Ellerbrock Clinician Educator Award; Louis J. Catania, OD, FAAO, Eminent Service Award; Anthony P. Cullen, OD, PhD, FAAO and Michael G. Harris, OD, JD, FAAO, Life Fellow Award; Padmaja Sankaridurg, BOptom, MIP, PhD, Leslie Donovan, BOptom, Saulius Varnas, PhD, Arthur Ho, PhD, FAAO, Xiang Chen, MS, Aldo Martinez, PhD, FAAO, Scott Fisher, BScPsych, Zhi Lin, MSc, Earl L. Smith, III, OD, PhD, FAAO, Jian Ge, MD and Brien A. Holden, PhD, DSc, FAAO, Garland W. Clay Award; and Barbara Junghans, BOptom, PhD, FAAO, Michael G. Harris Award for Excellence in Optometric Education (American Optometric Foundation Award).

Awards of the Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses & Refractive Technologies were given to: Lyndon W. Jones, PhD, FCOptom, FAAO, Max Schapero Memorial Lecture Award; and Pat Caroline, FAAO, Mark P. Andre, FAAO and Craig Norman, Founders’ Award.

A broad summary of the 2013 AFOS Awards at the Society’s 45th Annual Meeting is as follows:

• 2013 AFOS COL Bzdula Student of the Year Award: Matt Weinheimer
• 2013 AFOS Reserve OD of the Year Award: MAJ Jennifer Martin
• 2013 AFOS Junior OD of the Year Award: Maj Tara Jayne
• 2013 AFOS Optometrist of the Year Award: Dr. Angela Musick
• 2013 ORION Award: COL David Hilber, US ARmy (ret)
• AFOS First Honorary Membership Award given to Dr. Ronald Hopping
• AFOS's First Optometry Icon Speaker: RADM Michael Mittelman, US Navy, (ret)

The next annual Academy meeting will be held Nov. 12 to 15, 2014 at the Colorado Convention Center in Denver, Colo.
playpause next

AFOS's first Honorary Membership Award was given to Dr. Ronald Hopping, AOA immediate past president, by AFOS president Dr. Aly Wasik (l) and AFOS immediate past president, Dr. Michael Sunman (r).

Col Bzdula Student of the Year Award winner Matthew Weinheimer receives his plaque from Dr. Carla Engelke, Awards chair.

2013 AFOS Junior Optometrist of the Year Maj Tara Jayne receives her award from 2012 AFOS Junior Optometrist of the Year, Maj Richard Baird.

AFOS Optometrist of the Year Dr. Angela Musick is presented her plaque by Dr. Carla Engelke, Awards chair.

2013 Orion Award winner Col David Hilber receives his plaque from Dr. Alyon Wasik, AFOS president.

AFOS's first Optometric Icon, RADM Michael Mittelman, US Navy (ret) is presented his plaque by AFOS CE Chair, Commander Tyson Brunstetter OD, PhD.