American Optometric Association Names Optometrist of the Year and Other 2014 Annual Award Winners

Peter M. Agnone, OD

ST. LOUIS—The American Optometric Association  has announced its annual award winners for 2014 who will be recognized at the June 25 opening general session of Optometry’s Meeting, to be held here June 25 to 29.

Peter M. Agnone, OD, of Michigan, will receive the Optometrist of the Year Award for his outstanding services on behalf of the profession and the visual welfare of the public. This year’s Young Optometrist of the Year Award winner, M. Rob Pate, OD, of Alabama, has been in practice less than 10 years and will be recognized for demonstrating remarkable leadership when serving the profession, patients and his community.

The Optometric Educator Award will be presented to Gilbert E. Pierce, OD, PhD, FAAO, of Ohio, for outstanding services on behalf of the profession, optometric education and the visual welfare of the public. The Paraoptometric of the Year Award will honor Roberta Beers, of Pennsylvania, for her significant contributions to the field of paraoptometry. The Distinguished Service Award will go to Paul C. Ajamian, OD, FAAO, of Georgia, for his unusually significant contributions to the profession of optometry.

The Apollo Award will honor Bernard Maitenaz, of Paris, France, for distinguished service to the visual welfare of the public. Maitenaz has made a significant impact on the optometric profession by inventing the Varilux progressive addition lens (PAL). In 2012 alone, 20 million PALs were prescribed and dispensed in the U.S.

In addition to honoring the AOA’s 2014 award winners, the opening general session, which is being sponsored by Essilor,  will also feature Olympic gold medalist, Scott Hamilton, as the keynote speaker.