American Optometric Foundation Names Johnson & Johnson Vision Care Award of Excellence in Contact Lens Patient Care Winners


Kathy Dumbleton, MSc,
MCOptom, FAAO.

ORLANDO, Fla.—The American Optometric Foundation (AOF) has named the 2014 Johnson & Johnson Vision Care, Inc., Award of Excellence in Contact Lens Patient Care winners. The award recognizes outstanding fourth-year student clinicians who have demonstrated excellent overall knowledge of the contact lens field plus skillful, considerate and professional care of contact lens patients during their optometric education.

“The American Optometric Foundation is extremely grateful to Johnson & Johnson Vision Care, Inc., for their continued support of this program,” said AOF president Kathy Dumbleton, MSc, MCOptom, FAAO. Each winner receives a $1,000 education award and a personalized plaque commemorating their accomplishment.

The winners are: Devon Veit, OD, Illinois College of Optometry; J. Alex Jones, OD, Indiana University at Bloomington School of Optometry; Rakesh Lakhani, OD, Inter-American University of Puerto Rico School of Optometry; Hin Cheung, OD, Michigan College of Optometry at Ferris State University; Kirk Kaupke, OD, Midwestern University Arizona College of Optometry; Cheryl Zabrowski, OD, New England College of Optometry; Mollie J. Golden, OD, Northeastern State University Oklahoma College of Optometry; Heather McCarthy, OD, Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry; Stephanie Lynn Pisano, OD, The Ohio State University College of Optometry; Kate Dalrymple, OD, Pacific University College of Optometry; Ryan Jonathon Beers, OD, Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University; Zeal Shah, OD, Rosenberg School of Optometry, University of the Incarnate Word; Tiffany Gates, OD, Southern California College of Optometry; Andrew Bradbury, OD, Southern College of Optometry; John Gialousakis, OD, State University of New York College of Optometry; Laura Lusk McDaniel, OD, University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry; Jeffry Wu, OD, University of California - Berkeley School of Optometry; Jayanna Byrd, OD, University of Houston College of Optometry; Karla R. Hafford, OD, University of Missouri - St. Louis College of Optometry; Joannie Collin-Ferland, OD, University of Montreal School of Optometry; Mark Rowsell, OD, University of Waterloo School of Optometry and Vision Science; and Keith Shimizu, OD, Western University of Health Sciences, College of Optometry.

Founded in 1947, the AOF is a 501(c)(3) non-profit philanthropic organization that develops and provides financial support for optometric research and education in vision and eye health to improve clinical patient care.