JCAHPO Presents Alfonse Cinotti, MD, FACS, and David Noonan with Statesmanship Awards


Alfonse Cinotti, MD, FACS, (l) receives the JCAHPO Commissioner Statesmanship Award from Karl Golnik, MD, Med, JCAHPO’s president.
ST. PAUL, Minn.—The Joint Commission on Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology (JCAHPO) presented Alfonse Cinotti, MD, FACS, and David Noonan with Statesmanship Awards during a reception on Friday, Nov. 15, 2013, at the Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel.

JCAHPO president, Karl Golnik, MD, Med, (l) presents David Noonan with the Non- Commissioner Statesmanship Award.

Still practicing after more than 60 years, Dr. Cinotti, received the Commissioner Statesmanship Award for his many years of service to JCAHPO and his commitment to ophthalmic technicians and quality patient care. Among the organization’s founders in 1969, Dr. Cinotti was involved with JCAHPO through many developments, from writing the first certification examination to helping develop the first annual continuing education program 41 years ago.

Noonan, presented the Non-Commissioner Statesmanship Award, was the COO of the American Academy of Ophthalmology for 37 years before retiring in 2009. During his time at AAO, he was a strong supporter of JCAHPO and ophthalmic allied health. Noonan helped establish the AAO Liaison Committee, worked in partnership with JCAHPO and AAO’s Ophthalmic Assisting Independent Study Course, and he supported working partnerships between JCAHPO and the American Academy of Ophthalmic Executives.

JCAHPO leadership established the Statesmanship Award in 1975 in recognition of Commissioners and Non-Commissioners who have served and supported the field of ophthalmic allied health personnel and JCAHPO.