OneSight Research Foundation Awards $5,000 Scholarships to 10 Optometry Students


Mark Jacquot, OD.

CINCINNATI—The OneSight Research Foundation has named the 2014 winners of the Dr. Stanley Pearle Scholarship Fund. The foundation awarded 10 scholarships of $5,000 each, an increase from the $2,000 scholarships presented historically by the independent nonprofit organization that provides eyecare and eyewear in underserved communities worldwide. Since 2008, the fund has awarded a total of $270,000 in scholarships to 120 students.

The winners are: Ryan Beck, Nova Southeastern University; Pauline Bland, University of Missouri St. Louis; Alexander Choy, Illinois College of Optometry; Amber Egbert, University of California Berkeley; Erika Johnson, Indiana University; Christina Lord, New England College of Optometry; Kimberley Ovittore, Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University; Christen Rice, Southern College of Optometry; Roberto Saenz, University of Houston; and Jenny Tran, Western University of Health Sciences College of Optometry.

“As the founder of Pearle Vision, Dr. Stanley Pearle believed strongly in education, leadership and community service, all traits we see year after year exemplified by our winners,” said scholarship committee chair, Mark Jacquot, OD, senior director of eyecare, LensCrafters. “It’s exciting to make a greater contribution to deserving students.”

To be eligible, students must be enrolled in a fully accredited college or university that is an approved educational institution pursuing full-time graduate studies in an optometry program. Scholarships are awarded based on scholastic performance and potential, and evidence of commitment to a career in the optometric profession and to community service.

For future scholarships, the online application will be available in February 2015. OneSight’s programs are made possible due to sponsorship and volunteer support from Luxottica, its affiliated brands and many individuals, corporations, foundations, industry and community partners.