Optical Lab Division Announces Directors' Choice Award Recipient and 2014 Hall of Fame Inductees


Ed Greene, CEO of The Vision Council.

ALEXANDRIA, Va.—The Optical Lab Division of The Vision Council has revealed the names of 10 industry veterans who will be recognized during the Directors’ Choice Award and 15th Annual Optical Pioneers Hall of Fame banquet on Sept. 17 from 6:30 to 9:30 p.m.

The Division has named Ed Greene, CEO of The Vision Council, as the 2014 recipient of the Directors’ Choice Award. Established in 1987 under the Optical Laboratories Association (OLA), now the Optical Lab Division of The Vision Council, this award honors individuals and companies that have made outstanding contributions to the ophthalmic industry. Now in its 28th year, the award is still recognized as one of the most prestigious honors in the industry.

Greene will be recognized alongside this year’s Optical Pioneers Hall of Fame honorees at the Hall of Fame banquet, held during the Optical Lab Division’s meeting at International Vision Expo West.

The 2014 Optical Pioneer Hall of Fame Inductees include:

• Mike Brown, Practical Systems, Inc.
• Larry Clarke, Satisloh North America, Inc.
• Mike Dougher, Hoya Vision Care, North America
• John Fried, A&R Optical Machines, Inc.
• Frank Giammanco, First Vision Media Group, Inc.
• Matt Iovaldi, Midland Optical Lab
• Virginia “Susie” Lesher, Brondstater Optical America
• Jerry Mansuy, Vision Craft
• Jim Roussel, JL Roussel & Co.

“The Optical Pioneers Hall of Fame continues to celebrate the rich heritage of the optical lab industry and the individuals who have contributed to its success,” said Mike Daley, Optical Lab Division liaison. “It is my pleasure to announce the names of the individuals who have had a direct hand in helping to move our industry forward.”

“We are truly honored to recognize Ed Greene with this year’s Directors’ Choice Award,” said Virginia “Susie” Lesher, chair of the Optical Lab Division. “Ed has made incredible contributions to the industry throughout his career. He has always been a colleague worthy of respect and admiration, and has been instrumental in the success of not only The Vision Council, but many areas of the optical industry as well.

All members of the vision community are invited to attend the banquet, recognizing those who have contributed to the establishment of the wholesale optical industry. Tickets are free to members of The Vision Council, with RSVP. To learn more about the Optical Lab Division meeting and the Optical Pioneers Hall of Fame, or to reserve tickets for the banquet, visit www.thevisioncouncil.org/labmeeting.