The Contact Lens Manufacturers Association Announces 2018 Award Winners


Quido A. Cappelli with presidents.
LINCOLN, Neb.—The Contact Lens Manufacturers Association (CLMA)—a professional association of specialty lens laboratories, materials, solution and equipment manufacturers in the U.S. and abroad—announced its 2018 award winners. The Awards Banquet took place at The Tropicana in Las Vegas on Jan. 24. The award winners were: Quido A. Cappelli, who received the CLMA Medal of Honor; Edward S. Bennett, OD, MSEd, FAAO, FSLS and Jan B. Svochak who were each awarded The Leonardo da Vinci Award; The Dr. Josef Dallos Award went to Jan PG Bergmanson, OD, PhD, DSc; while the Creative Design and Process Award went to John McGregor.

John D. Hibbs received Industry Enhancement Award and the Trailblazers Award went to Vic McCray, MD and Team Tangible Science.

Awarded on Jan. 27, 2018 during the Rising Stars Reception held during the Global Specialty Lens Symposium (GSLS) at the Tropicana, was the 2018 GPLI Practitioner of the Year, which went to Renee E. Reeder, OD, FAAO.

The mission of the CLMA is to increase awareness and utilization of custom manufactured contact lenses, the association said in a statement. CMLA has built a record of success in its work to strengthen and unify its members’ impact on the shaping of vital national policies, laws and regulations that affect the contact lens industry.