Women In Optometry Welcomes Six New Board Members


Clockwise from top left are Jenny Coyle, OD; Lillian Kalaczinski, OD; Sherrol A. Reynolds, OD; Shauna Thornhill, OD; Annabelle Storch; and Mona Sood, OD.

NEW YORK—Women in Optometry has announced the addition of six new members to their board. WO board members serve two year terms. The new board members for 2019-20 are: Jenny Coyle, OD, MS, FAAO. Cole is dean of the Pacific University College of Optometry, where she began studying 30 years ago. Cole, who was WO’s 2018 Theia Award winner for education, is passionate about preparing students for the demands they will face when they become professionals. She said, “I had so many great mentors during my career, and mentorship is so important. I feel that it’s our duty to give back to the profession.

Lillian Kalaczinski, OD, is also joining the board. She is an assistant professor at Michigan College of Optometry, as well as chief of primary care at the University Eye Center. Formerly, she served as president of the Michigan Optometric Association, and chair of the American Optometric Association’s Health Center committee. Currently, she serves on the AOA’s Meetings Center. Dr. Kalaczinski said, “I look forward to engaging with dynamic, innovative and powerful women who are changing the face of optometry.”

Sherrol A. Reynolds, OD, FAAO is an associate professor at Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry, as well as the president of the National Optometric Association. In addition, she is chair of the Florida Optometric Association Healthy Eye Healthy People committee and the NOA’s liaison to the National Eye Institute National Eye Health Education Program. Outside those roles, Dr. Reynolds coordinates community service events in local underserved communities as well as in Jamaica, and mentors at-risk high school students in Broward County.

Mona Sood, OD,
co-owns Village Eyecare with Satti Sarai, OD. Village Eyecare consists of four private practices in Chicago, and Dr. Sood has dedicated her work to ensuring a consistent level of quality service for patients across all four practices. She is passionate about management process, marketing, the patient care experience, providing eyecare to underserved areas, and helping to eradicate refractive blindness. Dr. Sood said, “I have worked hard to provide leadership, management and training systems to support the growth. Our mantra is what is good for the patient is good for the practice. While it sounds simple, it applies to every aspect of our practice. I am looking forward to contributing and learning from others in this amazing group."

Annabelle Storch is set to graduate from the Southern California College of Optometry at Marshall B. Ketchum University in May 2019. She is finishing her term as president of the American Optometric Student Association, and hopes to complete a residency focusing on pediatrics after graduation. Storch said, “These continue to be exciting times in optometry with opportunities to push the profession forward. We all have a responsibility to stay involved and attentive.”

Shauna Thornhill, OD, works in an independent practice in two Walmart locations in Texas. Dr. Thornhill runs an annual Sight Before Christmas program, which encourages people in need to come in for an eye exam for the cost of a new toy for the local Toys for Tots program. She is an advocate for providing services to those in need and community involvement. Dr. Thornhill said, “To me, serving my patients means also serving my community and corporate optometry gives me a strong partner in that area.”

The full WO board, including already existing members, is made up of: Melissa Barnt, OD, FAAO, FSLS, FBCLA; Nhung Brandenburg, OD, FAAO, Dipl.; Tonyetta Hairston, OD; Barbara Horn, OD; Mary Ann Murphy, OD; Carey Patrick, OD; Jenny Coyle, OD, MS, FAAO; Lillian Kalaczinski, OD; Sherrol A. Reynolds, OD, FAAO; Mona Sood, OD; Annabelle Storch; and Shauna Thornhill, OD.

The retiring members of the WO board are: Mario Gutierrez, OD, FAAO; Dawn Kaplan, OD; Kelly Nichols, OD, MPH, PhD, FAAO; Maria Sampalis, OD; Bridgitte Shen Lee, OD; and Melissa Zaleski, OD, MPH.