Shared Visions V-Awards to Honor Allergan and Founder of Marshall B. Ketchum University


 Marshall B. Ketchum

YORBA LINDA, Calif.— Marshall B. Ketchum University will honor community leaders for their philanthropic impact and humanitarian support of optometry at the third annual Shared Visions Gala & V-Awards. The Corporate V-Award will be presented to Allergan, Inc. of Irvine, Calif., and will be accepted by Allergan chairman of the board and CEO, David E.I. Pyott. The Founder’s V-Award will be accepted by the Ketchum family for the university’s founder, Marshall B. Ketchum, MD. The Shared Visions Artist Award will go to Susan Joy Gustafson of Vancouver, Wash.

The Shared Visions Gala & V–Awards is the signature event for Marshall B. Ketchum University of Fullerton, Calif., a new name for an expanded health care educational institution including the Southern California College of Optometry and the developing School of Physician Assistant Studies. With a theme of “Sharing Vision – Changing Lives,” the event will be held at the Richard Nixon Presidential Library here Sept. 19, 2013, with a VIP reception at 4:30 p.m. followed by a gala starting at 5:30 p.m.

The Gala and V–Awards program includes selections from the Shared Visions Art Exhibit, showcasing works by blind or visually impaired artists, with some of the artists in attendance at the event. Gold sponsors of the Shared Visions Gala & V–Awards are Allergan, Essilor and NVision. Proceeds from the event go toward supporting vision readiness for all children in Orange County. In 2012, the Gala raised more than $200,000 and hosted 300 attendees in support of the creation of the mobile vision van known as “Eye Force One,” bringing vision services to those in need who cannot travel to a clinic.

Santinelli Presents Annual Award to HS Senior

 Janine Kieran (r) with award winner Nusrat Yasmin

NEW YORK—George Westinghouse High School in Brooklyn, N.Y. recently held an awards ceremony to honor their senior Vision Care Technology students. These students are the recipients of graduation awards from the school’s Optical Council, of which Santinelli International is a member.

At the school’s graduation ceremony, principal Janine Kieran (right) presented the third annual Santinelli International Award to high-school senior, Nusrat Yasmin.

Other students who received awards included: Kimanie Salmon, $100 from Cohens Fashion Optical; Dextroy Rigby, the $100 Rebaldo Memorial Award; Breanna Gordon, $100 gift card from Tri-Supreme; and Neziah Malone, $250 check from Essilor. ■