The 124th Annual AOA Congress elected the association’s 100th president, Robert C. Layman, OD, alongside the 2021-2022 board and approved resolutions on diversity, inclusion and genetic therapy among others.
Photo courtesy of AOA
DENVER—The 124th Annual AOA Congress elected the AOA’s 2021-2022 Board of Trustees during the final day of Optometry’s Meeting here, last week. Robert C. Layman, OD, of Ohio became the AOA’s 100th president. Serving alongside him are: president-elect James P. DeVleming, OD, of Washington; vice president Ronald L. Benner, OD, of Montana; secretary-treasurer Steven T. Reed, OD, of Mississippi; and immediate past president William T. Reynolds, OD, of Kentucky. The following AOA members were elected as trustees: Jacqueline M. Bowen, OD, of Colorado; Teri K. Geist, OD, of Nebraska; Belinda Starkey, OD, of Arkansas.
Not up for election this year but continuing to serve as AOA trustees are Lori L. Grover, OD, PhD, of Illinois; Terri A. Gossard, OD, of Ohio; and Curtis Ono, OD, of Washington.