More Images
CHARENTON-LE-PONT, France—During a meeting of the EssilorLuxottica board of directors on Wednesday, it was decided to propose the nomination of 12 individuals to compose its future board of directors, including Leonardo Del Vecchio, as a non-independent director. Del Vecchio currently serves as chairman of EssilorLuxottica. The group of 12 also includes Francesco Milleri, who is chief executive officer of the company, and Paul du Saillant, who is deputy chief executive officer. The slate of nominees does not include Hubert Sagnières, vice chairman, who had previously announced his plan to retire, as VMAIL reported in December.

The other nominees to the board are:

• Romolo Bardin, as non-independent director
• Juliette Favre, as non-independent director
• Jean-Luc Biamonti, as independent director
• Marie-Christine Coisne, as independent director
• José Gonzalo, as independent director
• Swati Piramal, as independent director
• Cristina Scocchia, as independent director
• Nathalie von Siemens, as independent director
• Andrea Zappia, as independent director

The mandates of the current directors representing employees, Delphine Zablocki and Léonel Pereira Ascencao, will expire on Sept. 20, 2021, and are not up for immediate renewal, the company noted.

“We are very pleased to be able to put forward such remarkable candidates today, who stand out for their vast experience, extensive business acumen and established reputations gained throughout their respective careers serving as executives or board members of leading global companies across geographies and industries,” said Del Vecchio and Sagnières in the announcement.

“Among them, we also welcome candidates who are both eminent executives as well as members of three important entrepreneurial families. We are fully confident in all of the candidates’ ability to make significant positive contributions to further accelerating the integration and ensuring the continued success of the company,” they added.