RANCHO CORDOVA, Calif.—Eyefinity/OfficeMate, a VSP GlobalSM company, has announced that James Kirchner, O.D., has been named chief professional strategies officer.

“As a highly respected optometrist and innovative thought leader in our industry, Dr. Kirchner brings with him an exceptional clinical, business and creative skill set that will help drive our organization into the future,” said C. Edward Buffington, chief operating officer of Eyefinity/OfficeMate. “I have long admired Jim’s keen focus and dedication to helping eyecare professionals benefit from implementing practice management software, EMRs and other technologies.”

In his new role, Dr. Kirchner will direct all industry and professional strategies, and chair the Eyefinity/OfficeMate advisory panel in the design and architecture of current and future software business solutions. Additionally, Dr. Kirchner will establish a formal speakers’ bureau and assume a leading role in the company’s health information technology strategy, overseeing the final phases of product certification efforts.

“I am thrilled to join Eyefinity/OfficeMate at such an exciting time in their 25 year history,” added Dr. Kirchner. “This new role gives me the opportunity to serve thousands of my colleagues by helping to build and develop Eyefinity/OfficeMate’s industry-leading software and web-based eyecare business solutions.”

A practicing optometrist for 33 years, Dr. Kirchner founded EyeCare Specialties, a multi-doctor, multi-location practice in Lincoln, NE, and has been a pioneer in practice management and electronic medical records (EMR) development.

Dr. Kirchner currently serves as chairman of the Nebraska Board of Optometry and is past-president of the Nebraska Optometric Association and the North Central States Optometric Council, which represents the optometric community throughout a ten-state region. For the past 15 years, Dr. Kirchner has served as a volunteer leader for the American Optometric Association, most recently completing his fourth year as chair of the AOA's Communications Group Executive committee.