AAOPT Announces 2019 Award Recipients


ORLANDO, Fla.—The American Academy of Optometry (AAOPT) has announced the winners of its awards for 2019. Each year, the AAOPT recognizes individuals who have made important contributions toward advancing the optometry profession. This year’s winners will be recognized at the Joint American Academy of Optometry and World Council of Optometry Recognition Gala and Awards Program on Saturday, October 26, 7:00 to 10:00 PM, in the Plaza International Ballroom of the Hyatt Regency Orlando. John G. Flanagan, PhD, FCOptom, FAAO, awards committee chair said, “Our Academy is only as good as the people we honor. In 2019 we are honoring the best; our best teachers, researchers, clinicians, and rising stars of the future.”

This year’s winners are:

Raymond A. Applegate, OD, PhD, FAAO—Charles F. Prentice Medal and Lecture Award

Susan A. Cotter, OD, MS, FAAO—Glenn A. Fry Award and Lecture (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

Uduak C. Udom, OD, MPH, FAAO (posthumously)—AAO-Essilor Award for Outstanding International Contributions to Optometry

Thomas R. Stelmack, OD, FAAO—William Feinbloom Award

J. Daniel Twelker, OD, PhD, FAAO—Brien Holden Humanitarian Award

Andrew D. Pucker, OD, PhD, FAAO—Irvin M. and Beatrice Borish Award

Rami Aboumourad, OD—Julius F. Neumueller Award in Optics (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

Thomas G. Quinn, OD, MS, FAAO—Vincent Ellerbrock Clinician Educator Award

Thomas A. Aller, OD, FBCLA, Maria Liu, OD, PhD, FAAO, and Christine F. Wildsoet, DipAppSci(Optom), PhD, FAAO—Garland W. Clay Award

Heather A. Anderson, OD, PhD, FAAO and Donald O. Mutti, OD, PhD, FAAO—Michael G. Harris Family Award for Excellence in Optometric Education (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

Awards of the Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses & Refractive Technologies

Philip B. Morgan, PhD, MCOptom, FAAO—Max Schapero Memorial Lecture Award

S. Barry Eiden, OD, FAAO—Founders’ Award

Awards of the Public Health and Environmental Vision Section

Robert N. Kleinstein, OD, PhD, FAAO—Henry B. Peters Award for Public Health and Environmental Vision (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

The joint meeting of the American Academy of Optometry and World Council of Optometry, Academy 2019 Orlando and 3rd World Congress of Optometry, will take place October 23-27, 2019, at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, FL. For more information, visit www.aaopt.org/2019.