Maryland Optometric Association Announces 2019 Award Winners


STEVENSON, Md.—The Maryland Optometric Association (MOA) has announced its full list of award winners for 2019. This year’s winners will be honored during the MOA’s two-day Annual Convention, which will take place from Nov. 2-3, 2019, at the Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center in National Harbor, Maryland. More than 400 doctors of optometry from throughout the state are registered to attend this year’s MOA Annual Convention, which the Association says is a “historic, sell out crowd.”

This year’s winners are:

Joshua S. Gordon, OD—Optometrist of the Year Award. This award recognizes a deserving individual doctor of optometry for performance of outstanding services on behalf of the profession and to the visual welfare of the public

Alan S. Bishop, OD—Melvin Waxman Award. This award is presented to an optometrist in recognition of their dedicated and loyal service to the profession and to the Maryland Optometric Association

State Senator Paul Pinsky—V. Eugene McCrary Award. This award is presented to someone outside of the profession in recognition of significant contributions to the enhancement of eyecare for the citizens of Maryland

Corinne N. Casey, OD, FAAO­—Young OD of the Year Award. This award is presented to a member optometrist who has been in practice for less than 10 years and who has shown remarkable skills when serving his/her profession, patients, and community.

This year, the MOA is also celebrating the passage of a “compromise” scope expansion bill in the Maryland General Assembly.