ALEXANDRIA, Va.—As the Secretariat to the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Z80 Accredited Standards Committee (ASC) for Ophthalmic Optics, The Vision Council has announced the appointment of two new subcommittee chairs, including Dr. Gregory Williby, senior principal scientist Presbyopia Research & Development, Johnson & Johnson Vision, as the SC7 (Contact Lenses) Sub-Committee chair and Daniel A. Lahousse, quality assurance director, FGX International, as the SC3 (Frames) Sub-Committee chair. The Vision Council and volunteer members have produced and contributed to multiple standards and communications to assist the industry in serving the eyeglass wearing public.

ANSI Z80 ASC for Ophthalmic Optics develops and maintains American National Standards within its scope and develops U.S. positions at the International Organization for Standardization (ISO).
The Z80 Committee, established in 1956, is a U.S. national standards developer accredited by ANSI. The current chair is Dr. Carl Tubbs of the American Academy of Ophthalmology. The committee, made up of 21 voting organizations and more than 200 participants, meets twice a year. There are seven subcommittees that operate under the Z80 committee.
Serving as the new SC7 (Contact Lenses) Sub-Committee chair, Dr. Williby brings 18 years of team management in contact lens research and product development, optical metrology, optical engineering, and regulated verification and validation activities. Dr. Williby studied optical sciences at the University of Arizona and joined Johnson & Johnson Vision in Jacksonville, Florida in 2004. Dr. Williby has been an active member of the Z80 committee since 2015 and represents ANSI US position at ISO TC172/SC7/WG9.
The newly appointed SC3 (Frames) Sub-Committee chair, Daniel A. Lahousse, has been an active member of ASC Z80 for over 5 years and is also a technical expert representing ANSI for various ISO TC172/SC7 working groups. He has worked in optical frames, sunglasses, and reader products for 14 years and oversees the global quality programs at FGX international Inc., involving regulatory compliance as well as product testing and inspection.
All Accredited Standards Committees must be ANSI approved and audited. The ANSI Z80 Committee, its subcommittees and secretariat operate under the ASC Z80 Operating Procedures. The Z80 Committee also refers to the guidelines of the Optics and Electro-Optics Standards Council (OEOSC), administrator of the ISO TAG that includes ophthalmic optics. These guidelines detail the procedures for the development of U.S. positions on international standards issues.
For more information about ANSI, click here. For more information on OEOSC, click here.
The Accredited Standards Committee Z80 is a long-established group develops national standards that apply to Ophthalmic Optics including, prescription and non-prescription eyeglasses, sunglasses, OTC readers, contact lenses, ophthalmic instruments and medical devices including intraocular lenses and laser systems.
To learn more about The Vision Council’s role in standards, click here or reach out to Michael Vitale at