American Academy of Optometry Foundation Announces the 2020 Hopkins Comprehensive Eye Care Award Recipient

More Images
Charlotte Yiyi Wang, OD
ORLANDO—The American Academy of Optometry Foundation has announced that Charlotte Yiyi Wang, OD, is this year’s recipient of the Hopkins Comprehensive Eye Care Award. Dr. Wang is a graduate of the University of California, Berkeley School of Optometry, and primary care/community health resident at the Meredith W. Morgan University Eye Center. Douglas W. Hopkins, OD, FAAO, was a leader within the Primary Care Section of the Academy who passed in 2007, according to the Academy's recent announcement. In his honor, friends and colleagues established the Douglas W. Hopkins Primary Care Fellowship Fund. With their generosity and that of Hopkins’ widow, Roberta, the fund quickly became fully endowed and the first award was issued in 2012.

The award is intended to promote the practice and development of comprehensive eyecare by providing incentive and support to talented optometric residents who demonstrate a passion and commitment to further clinical experience, research, and education.

Dr. Wang presented an impressive resume of experience in clinical research, volunteer service, and lecture presentations, thus earning this prestigious award.

The American Academy of Optometry Foundation (AAOF) is the 501(c)(3) philanthropic arm of the American Academy of Optometry (AAO) and was founded in 1947 for the “upholding, broadening, fostering, promoting and aiding of optometric education; the profession of optometry and its practitioners.”