LINCOLN, Neb.—Derrell James, vice president and general manager of X-Cel Specialty Contacts, has been elected as the president of the Contact Lens Manufacturers Association. James also serves as the vice president for the Gas Permeable Lens Institute. Joining him on the CLMA executive board is John Hibbs of Contamac as vice president, and Sara Yost of BostonSight as secretary/treasurer. The following industry leaders were elected to the CLMA board of directors: Cindy Belliveau of Visionary, Andy Jackson of ABB Optical, Jonathan Jacobson of Acuity Polymers, Troy Miller of Acculens, Chris Pantle of DAC International, Monica Sanders of Visionary Optics, and Jan Svochak of TruForm Optics. Josh Adams is the immediate past president of the CLMA and will also serve on the board.

 Derrell James.  
“It is an honor to be elected president to the Contact Lens Manufacturing Association,” said James. “The specialty lenses, materials, and tools our 43 member companies provide to eyecare professionals are just the surface. Underneath is a culture of service, collaboration, innovation, and dedication to the advancement of the industry that continues the quest to bring a specialty contact lens to every person who has compromised vision.”

The 62-year-old CLMA and its education partner, the Gas Permeable Lens Institute, are organizations dedicated to awareness, education, and ultimately, assisting doctors in returning sight to patients.