Andrew Karp

Andrew Karp, Group Editor, Lenses & Technology

Andrew has reported on the optical industry for Vision Monday and 20/20 Magazine since 1987. He covers the latest developments in ophthalmic dispensing, ophthalmic lenses and treatments, lens processing technology and optical laboratories. Andrew edits two VM e-newsletters: VMail Technology, a weekly that spotlights new products, software and online applications for labs and dispensers, and Eye2, a monthly that focuses on new technologies that are expanding the capabilities of eyewear and the potential of human vision. Contact Andrew at akarp@jobson.com.

Overhead

By Andrew Karp
Monday, August 18, 2014 12:00 AM “Two-thirds of 500 recently surveyed physicians use some kind of mobile app in the performance of their jobs, according to MedData Group.” akarp@jobson.com

Overheard

By Andrew Karp
Monday, June 16, 2014 12:00 AM
“We can show a patient with night myopia how it will look driving on the Turnpike,” said Digital Vision Systems Keith Thompson about the firm’s virtual refraction.” akarp@jobson.com

OVERHEARD

By Andrew Karp
Monday, May 19, 2014 12:00 AM

Get Ready for Online Refraction

By Andrew Karp
Wednesday, May 07, 2014 12:30 AM Ever since the dawn of online eyeglass sales, technology trend watchers have speculated about the possibility of online refractions.

Overheard

By Andrew Karp
Monday, March 17, 2014 12:00 AM

Overheard

By Andrew Karp
Monday, March 03, 2014 12:00 AM

Overheard

By Andrew Karp
Monday, February 10, 2014 12:00 AM

Overheard

By Andrew Karp


Monday, January 20, 2014 12:00 AM

Celebrating a Year of Eye2 Innovation

By Andrew Karp


Monday, December 16, 2013 12:00 AM As editor of Eye2, I continually marvel at the broad spectrum of innovative technologies that are moving our industry forward.

Overheard

By Andrew Karp
Monday, November 18, 2013 12:00 AM

Overheard

By Andrew Karp
Wednesday, October 23, 2013 12:00 PM

Overheard

By Andrew Karp
Monday, September 23, 2013 12:00 AM

Overheard

By Andrew Karp
Monday, September 09, 2013 12:00 AM

Time Travel in the Waiting Room

By Andrew Karp
Monday, August 19, 2013 12:00 AM I’ve always wanted to be a time traveler. For a moment last week, I thought my wish had come true.

When Customer Service Becomes a Disservice

By Andrew Karp
Monday, May 20, 2013 12:00 AM The one thing Republicans and Democrats seem to agree on these days is that our health care system needs fixing.
Loading...