OLA Inducts Seven Into Its Hall of Fame

WASHINGTON, D.C.—The Optical Laboratories Association (OLA) held its 10th annual OLA Hall of Fame banquet here on Dec. 3 to induct seven new members. Six of the honorees—Edward A. Dietz, III, James W. Drain, Morley Gwirtzman, Don Rahn, Henry Shyer, Ralph L. Woythaler—accepted their awards in person. The seventh inductee, Brian Barns, was honored posthumously.

The OLA Hall of Fame began as The Optical Pioneers in 2000, for the purpose of “recognizing the contributions of those who participated in the establishment of the wholesale optical industry in its founding years.” Over time, the recognition has progressed to persons from any era and any part of the optical lab industry, and the name was changed to the Hall of Fame, according to OLA. The banquet is held each year at the OLA annual meeting.