AAOF Names 5 Recipients of the 2018 Vincent Salierno Scholarship


ORLANDO—The American Academy of Optometry Foundation (AAOF) has named the five recipients of their 2018 Vincent Salierno Scholarships. The Vincent Salierno Scholarship is designated for students pursuing a doctorate of optometry degree who are enrolled in school full-time and have a 3.0 average for all their course work. Students’ institutions nominate them for the $2,000 scholarship, which can be automatically renewed each academic year as long as the student maintains their 3.0 average and full-time student status. This year, five students received the scholarship. The 2018 recipients are:

Winne Li Illinois—College of Optometry
Brendon Manns—Michigan College of Optometry
Mark Calixte—Nova Southeastern University
Monica Udaykumar—Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University
Christopher Muegge—Southern College of Optometry

The Vincent Salierno Scholarship is named after Vincent Salierno, born in Italy in 1903. After moving to the U.S., Salierno established the Victory Optical Manufacturing Company in Newark, New Jersey, and grew to be a respected leader in the optical industry. A generous man, Salierno used his success to support an orphanage, a hospital, and a church in Italy. He also served on the board of directors at Columbus Hospital in New Jersey.

After his death in 1973, Salierno’s widow Rose established the scholarship. Today, over 100 scholarships have been awarded in his name.