American Optometric Student Association Elects 2017-18 Officers


(L to R) treasurer Jon Beeson; secretary Jodi Baker; vice president Melissa Zaleski; and president Andy Mackner.

SAN DIEGO—The American Optometric Student Association (AOSA) has elected four new officers to its executive council. Andy Mackner, Melissa Zaleski, Jodi Baker and Jon Beeson will commence their terms in March.

Andy Mackner, a third-year optometry student at Pacific University College of Optometry, was elected the 50th president of the AOSA while Melissa Zaleski of Nova Southeastern University was elected vice president. Jodi Baker of the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry was elected secretary and Jon Beeson of the Inter American University of Puerto Rico will serve as treasurer.

In other news, the AOSA Board approved the creation of a National Liaison to the Ocular Nutrition Society. The move responds to increased interest in dietary influences on eye health. Two students, Ana Bonaldi of the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences as well as Alyssa Drew of the Michigan College of Optometry, were elected to represent the AOSA in the American Optometric Association House of Delegates.

The AOSA’s Board also got the opportunity to visit the corporate headquarters of Allergan and Oakley and had hands-on workshops with Valley Contax and BioTissue. Guests included American Optometric Association Trustee William Reynolds, OD, and representatives of Alcon, Essilor, Guardian Life Insurance, Hoya Vision Care, Johnson & Johnson Vision Care and Optovue.