American Optometric Student Association Honors Student Leaders at Optometry’s Meeting


PHILADELPHIA—The American Optometric Student Association (AOSA) presented its top awards to student leaders during the recent Optometry’s Meeting held here June 25-28. AOSA president Devin Sasser presented the Founders Award, AOSA’s highest honor, to the 2012-2013 AOSA executive council—Jennifer Sidun, OD; Kelly Keane, OD; Marc Kallal, OD; and Amber Gatti Dunn, OD—“a group of committed student leaders who ensured the AOSA remained vibrant and strong during a time of rough transition.”

AOSA treasurer Stefan Levay-Young (SUNY) presented the Merit Award to Chris Cordero, OD, regional talent specialist-health & wellness for Wal-Mart. Thank You Awards were presented to the 2013-14 student program committee, Morgan Strub, OD, and Tom Hubbard, OD, who will serve as chair of the committee in 2014-15. AOSA treasurer Keylee Clemons Brown (IAUPR) presented the Outstanding Service Award to outgoing student program committee chair Ashley Kamann, OD. Al King, OD, president of the National Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO), announced the Norman E. Wallis Award Winner, Jessica Haynes (SCO), who has the distinction of the highest score yet attained in the NBEO exam.

AOSA vice president Jennifer Turano (Salus-PCO) introduced the hosts of the opening ceremony, Hoya, and thanked them for their support of student education and sponsoring the entertainer at the session, hypnotist Ricky Kalmon. During his act, a dozen students performed pet tricks with imaginary animals, jammed on air guitars and competed for cash prizes that in reality were cocktail napkins. The AOSA represents 6,500 students attending the 23 schools and colleges of optometry throughout the U.S., Canada, and Puerto Rico. All 23 schools were represented at Optometry’s Meeting, where the AOSA hosted 1,000 students.

See “For the First Time in Philadelphia…” and “AOA Close to Naming Director…” for more highlights from Optometry’s Meeting.