American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery Announces 2018 Ophthalmology Hall of Fame Inductees


Howard Fine, MD and David Maurice, PhD
FAIRFAX, Va.—The American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS) announce that it will induct Howard Fine, MD, and the late David Maurice, PhD, into the ASCRS Ophthalmology Hall of Fame. The ceremony, which takes place April 14, will be held at 10 a.m. at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in Washington D.C. during the ASCRS Opening General Session of the ASCRS•ASOA Annual Meeting, to be held April 13 to 17. Dr. Fine has been in private practice for nearly 50 years and is currently a clinical professor of ophthalmology at the Oregon Health and Science University in Portland, and a co-founder of the Oregon Eye Surgery Center. He has held several international leadership positions within organized medicine and ophthalmology. He has served as the president of the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery and the president of the International Intraocular Implant Club.

Dr. David Maurice (1922-2002) was a British ophthalmologist, noted for his contributions to the development of the specular microscope used for examination of the cornea. His PhD thesis on corneal permeability introduced the pump-leak hypothesis for the corneal endothelium. At the Institute of Ophthalmology in London, he worked on the explanation of the physical basis of corneal transparency, aqueous humor dynamics and other topics in the physiology of the eye.

He introduced fluorescein for the investigation of aqueous humor flow, now an important technique in ocular research. He was a founding member of the journal, Experimental Eye Research, and a member of its editorial board until 2001. In 1998, he published a theory of REM-sleep oxygen supply to the cornea. He is survived by his wife, his ex-wife, three daughters and four grandchildren.

For more information on the ASCRS Ophthalmology Hall of Fame Ceremony and the 2017 ASCRS•ASOA Annual Meeting, visit