Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry Names Special Recognition Award Recipients


William E. Cochran,OD, Andrew D. Pucker OD, PhD, FAAO and Rodney L. Tahran, OD, FAAO.
ROCKVILLE, Md.—The Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry (ASCO)—a non-profit association representing the interests of optometric education—announced the recipients of the 2018 Special Recognition Awards. William E. Cochran,OD, president emeritus of the Southern College of Optometry, is the winner of this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award. This award recognizes an outstanding individual who over an extended period of time provided exceptional leadership to ASCO and to optometric education; made outstanding contributions to the optometric community, and displayed exemplary commitment and dedication to the association.

Sponsored by Oculus, the ASCO Rising Star Award is given to an outstanding faculty member or administrator with less than seven years of service. Andrew D. Pucker OD, PhD, FAAO is recognized for his outstanding contributions to the University of Alabama at Birmingham, School of Optometry, through teaching, scholarship, administration and professional service and most notably in contributions to ASCO’s Biomedical Educators Special Interest Group.

ASCO’s 2018 Industry Leadership Awardee is Rodney L. Tahran, OD, FAAO. Dr. Tahran recently retired from Essilor after 36 years and is an adjunct professor at Southern California College of Optometry at Marshall B. Ketchum University and the Pacific University, College of Optometry.

Awards will be given out at ASCO’s Annual Leadership Luncheon taking place in Colorado on June 20, 2018 at the Hyatt Regency Denver at the Colorado Convention Center from 12:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m.