College of Optometrists in Vision Development Honors 2013 Award Recipients at 43rd Annual Meeting


AURORA, Ohio—At their 43rd Annual Meeting held last month in Orlando, Fla., the College of Optometrists in Vision Development (COVD) honored seven COVD members with awards for their contributions to developmental optometry.

The Annual Meeting Awards Luncheon recipients included Drs. Kelly Frantz, Ron Bateman, W. C. Maples, Paul Abplanalp and Richard T. Hull; Dr. Robert and Mrs. Linda Sanet, COVT’ and Robert Nurisio, COVT.

The 2013 Awards were presented as follows:
A.M. Skeffington Award - Kelly Frantz, OD, FCOVD
G.N. Getman Award - Ron Bateman, OD, FCOVD
President's Award - W. C. Maples, OD, FCOVD
Distinguished Service Award - Dr. Robert and Mrs. Linda Sanet
Optometry & Vision Development Award - Paul Abplanalp, PhD, OD
Certified Optometric Vision Therapist of the Year Award - Robert Nurisio

Nominations for the awards are reviewed by selection committees compiled of past award recipients and members of the Board of Directors and Journal Review Board.

Additionally, five travel scholarships and 24 travel grants were donated by COVD members and presented to optometry students and residents. The travel grants, intended to defer costs for attending the meeting, included the NECO travel grant provided by Drs. Richard Laudon and Jack Richman, and four SUNY VT Resident travel grants provided by Dr. and Mrs. Sanet.

For more information about the COVD Annual Meeting Awards, visit COVD’s Annual Meeting page.