Recipients Announced for American Academy of Optometry 2014 Awards


DENVER—The American Academy of Optometry has announced the recipients of the various awards for distinguished individuals in optometry for 2014. Recognized for their consistent contribution to the advancement of the profession, 2014’s award recipients are:

Brien A. Holden, PhD, DSc, FAAO, Charles F. Prentice Medal and Lecture Award

Lyndon Jones, FCOptom, PhD, FAAO, Glenn A. Fry Award and Lecture (American Optometric Foundation Award)

Laura E. Downie, BOptom, PhD, FAAO, Irvin M. and Beatrice Borish Award

Tone Garaas-Maurdalen, AAO-Essilor Award for Outstanding, International Contributions to Optometry

Serge Resnikoff, MD, PhD, Carel C. Koch Memorial Award

Ron Melton, OD, FAAO and Randall K. Thomas, OD, MPH, FAAO, Vincent Ellerbrock Clinician Educator Award

Satya B. Verma, OD, FAAO, Life Fellow Award

Neville A. McBrien, MCOptom, PhD; Andrew I. Jobling; and Alex Gentle, PhD, FAAO, Garland W. Clay Award

Edward J. Revelli, OD, FAAO, Michael G. Harris Award for Excellence in Optometric Education (American Optometric Foundation Award)

Awards of the Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses & Refractive Technologies include:

Michel Guillon, PhD, FCOptom, FAAO, Max Schapero Memorial Lecture Award

Jean-Louis Blanchard, OD, Founders’ Award

David Rosenbloom, OD, FAAO (posthumously), Exemplary Service Award

Award of the Public Health & Environmental Vision Section:

Alden N. Haffner, OD, FAAO, Henry B. Peters Memorial Award in Public Health and Environmental Vision

Award winners will be recognized at the Academy 2014 Denver Awards Ceremony on Friday, Nov. 14, 8:00 to 10:00 a.m., in the Four Seasons Ballroom of the Colorado Convention Center. Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses and Refractive Technologies award recipients will be honored at 5:00 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 14 in Room 601-607 after the Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses & Refractive Technologies Symposium.

The Henry B. Peters Memorial Award will be given at the end of the Public Health & Environmental Vision Section Symposium on Wednesday, Nov. 12 at 4:00 p.m. in Room 405-407.

The American Academy of Optometry’s annual meeting, Academy 2014 Denver, will take place Nov.12 to 15, 2014, at the Colorado Convention Center in Denver, Colorado. For more information, visit the website.