Vision Community Honors Eight ‘Optical Pioneers’ at Awards Banquet

playpause next

Enjoying the festivities are (l to r) Debbie Dietz-Kemp, sister of Ed Dietz, III, and Henry Shyer, Zyloware.

Sharing a moment before the awards ceremony began are (l to r) Dale Parmenteri, Balester Optical; Jeff Szymanski, Toledo Optical; and Hal Walker, Superior Optical.

Virginia “Susie” Lesher, Optical Lab Division Chairperson, presents Hoya Vision Care’s Barney Dougher with the Directors’ Choice Award.

The Vision Council’s Mike Daley (l) presents Cherry Optical’s Richard Cherry with his award.

Jonathan Jacobs, Superior Optical, Inc. receives his award from Lesher.

Jobson Optical Group’s Andrew Karp (l) receives his honor from Jobson’s Marge Axelrad.

James McLean (l), former owner of Dietz-McLean Optical, receives his honor from son Drake.

Younger Optics’ Tom Balch (l) presents Younger’s David Rips with his honor.

Santinelli International’s Joseph Santinelli (l) receives his award from son Gerard.

Ocuco’s Robert Shanbaum (r) is presented with his honor from Hoya’s Rick Tinson.

LAS VEGAS—On Oct. 2, prior to the start of Vision Expo West, the Optical Lab Division honored eight industry veterans who were recognized during the Directors’ Choice Award and 14th Annual Optical Pioneers Hall of Fame banquet held here at The Venetian Resort-Hotel-Casino.

The Optical Lab Division named Barney Dougher, president of Hoya Vision Care, North America, the recipient of the 2013 Directors’ Choice Award. The Directors’ Choice Award was established in 1987 under the Optical Laboratories Association, now the Optical Lab Division of The Vision Council, to honor individuals and companies that have made outstanding contributions to the ophthalmic industry. Now in its 27th year, the award is still recognized as one of the most prestigious honors in the industry.

Dougher was recognized alongside this year’s Optical Pioneers Hall of Fame honorees at the Hall of Fame banquet.

2013 Optical Pioneer Hall of Fame Inductees included:
  • Richard Cherry, president of RD Cherry Optical, Inc. (Cherry Optical)
  • Jonathan Jacobs, president of Superior Optical, Inc.
  • Andrew Karp, group editor with Jobson Optical Group
  • James McLean, former owner of Dietz-McLean Optical (retired)
  • David Rips, president of Younger Optics
  • Joseph Santinelli, founder and CEO of Santinelli International
  • Robert Shanbaum, president of Ocuco, Inc. ■